Don’t Just Eat, Savor

5855938443_a7763bb9ca_b

Photo Credit: Mr.TinDC Flickr via Compfight cc

Nothing makes me feel more like a human being again after a long hard day than a favorite food. (except perhaps a shower). After a morning spend in and out of the cold and wind, a bowl of pretty much anything warm is welcome. Today’s choice was butternut squash with butter. I think one of the hardest aspects of being a parent is that I don’t have the luxury of enjoying my food. I do eat, at least usually, because it is necessary for me to function as a mom and a person. But savoring my food, enjoying the taste and textures of my favorites.

Eating for the experience rather than just the nutrients is, I believe a uniquely human trait. Yet another example of ways that parenting sometimes makes me feel less than human. Sometimes I’m reduced to my most basic instincts for self-preservation. I feel selfish setting aside time for self-care. My self-care priorities include hot food, quiet and preferably a hot shower. I know I’m not entitled to these things, I often have to do without them. But I know that when I can make them a priority, I am a better mom, a better wife and a better friend. When I take care of myself, it makes me more able to care for others.

So yes, I do eat and sometimes, I even enjoy it.

bethany_31_days_honesty_big

20-2-e1473705920896

2 thoughts on “Don’t Just Eat, Savor

  1. Visiting from FMF (and also doing Write 31 Days). It’s so hard as a parent, or any kind of caregiver, to take time out for yourself. I’ve just come on holiday while my elderly dad (who has dementia) is still in hospital and I have to remind myself that it’s ok to take a break. But we do need time to take care of ourselves or we won’t be fit enough to care for those we love. It’s an ongoing lesson to find the balance.

Leave a Reply

