31 Days to Clean: Having a Martha House the Mary Way

31Days1

From the author of Frumps to Pumps comes this great motivational (part devotional part motiving self-help book) 31 Days to Clean: Having a Martha House the Mary Way. I’m going to use a similar format to review this that I did with Frumps to Pumps; doing one lesson per week.

The truth is, I need to get my house in order, both cleanliness and attitude wise. I want to make our household a more peaceful place.

I like a clean house, but I don’t like cleaning. I’ve read so many pithy comments about how good moms don’t mind dirty floors. But you know what, I do. I don’t mind my house looking lived in, but clutter and filth to get to me. They make me irritable, and I can’t think straight. I know that I have young children and a small house, this means the nature of my life will mean clutter and messes. So I’m going into this devotional looking for compromise. How do I keep clean clothes on all our bodies, food on the table and keep the house clean enough that I don’t lose my mind without missing out on my children and my life. I don’t want to look back and think, “Well, I don’t remember anything about my kids’ growing up, but at least the house was always clean.” But neither do I want to go through every day tripping over toys, being furious with the world because my kitchen floor has been sticky for three weeks. I need to find a balance.

After each reading I’ll be faced with two challenges:

The Mary Challenge -Something you do that encourages/engages your heart

The Martha Challenge – Specific cleaning tasks

Frumps to Pumps changed the way I looked at myself and the way I dress. In the end, I developed a compromise and in general, I feel pretty good most days about how I look.

So I’m going to give this a try and see if it can help me figure out how to keep my house clean and my life sane. Will you join me?

12 thoughts on “31 Days to Clean: Having a Martha House the Mary Way

Leave a Reply

